Am I crazy? Probably.

So, here I am. I’ve already given up gluten and hopped on the Paleo bandwagon. I’ve decided (in a fit of pique or insanity; I’m not sure which) to start a Whole 30 on May 28th. Here’s what’s going to happen:

I am giving up: grains, white potatoes, dairy, ALL sugar (including honey, maple syrup coconut sugar, stevia, etc.), soy, ALL alcohol, and my fruit addiction. I am also committing to giving up Paleo “hacks” for desserts, bread, etc., which are generally made with almond or coconut flour. I will be eating: lean meats, vegetables, sweet potatoes in severe moderation, and certain fruits. And almond butter, which I think will be my sole “sweet” fix. And, thanks be to Wookie Jesus, I can still have coffee! I would not be embarking on this challenge without coffee, believe you me. I would like to still be married to my fantastic husband at the end of the 30 days, y’know?

These are things that I hope will happen during my Whole 30: less digestive “distress”, reduced joint pain, more energy, higher iron levels and lower blood sugar levels, and, strangely least importantly, losing weight. I’d also like to be able to work out for more than 10 minutes at a time.

I’m also hoping this blog will keep me motivated, and possibly motivate other folks to try it as well. And now, I’m going to bed, so that I may get up early and gorge on all the stuff I’m not allowed to have after tomorrow. Sweet (or, meaty?) dreams!

3 thoughts on “Am I crazy? Probably.

  1. I am going to do a blog soon about my road to decreased stress and pain via diet and lifestyle intervention. I will also have some recipes and hope to have guest posts in the future. I hope to have time to keep up with your blog, especially since I am not really a blog reader. I mostly pop on to grab a recipe and get on with my life. I am proud of you and wish you sweet happiness.

  2. Awesome! I started on May 1st on a complete whim after visiting a couple websites. First two weeks where ruff (was about to chew my arm off for a doughnut). My carb cravings have greatly diminished although not completely disappeared. I went cold turkey on everything Sugar, Fruit, Dairy, Legumes, Grains, and only been drinking water. I started at around 285 lbs and this morning I weighed In at 259!!
    If a Lazy guy like me can do this, so can you.

Leave a Reply

