All hail the mighty Pulled Pork

You guys. You guys!! I made pulled pork yesterday. I’m eating it for breakfast with broccolette and baby greens and it’s so good I might have to marry it. Husband has been picking at the bits that I generously left on the pan…my son was looking at it with desire in his eyes but he was late for school so it’s safe from the Sasquatch. I really should be getting ready for school but I’m going to share the recipe reeeal quicklike because I love you guys, and I’m selfless like that. I recommend that you make it ASAP, and it’s Whole 30 compliant as there is no sugar involved.

Kay’s Bomb-Ass Pulled Pork- makes about 4# of delicious goodness

6-8# Pork Shoulder, Picnic Shoulder or Boston Butt (bone-in is preferred)

Rub:

3 tsp. kosher salt

1 tsp. black pepper

2 tsp. garlic powder

2 T BBQ spice (I used BBQ 3000 from Penzey’s)

1 tsp. Ancho chili powder

Put the roast on a plate, and rub the…rub all over it. Some recipes tell you to trim the fat cap off but why? It adds a butt-ton of flavor. Make sure all surfaces are covered by the rubby goodness. Wrap the pork up and refrigerate for 8 hours (or more). I rubbed the pork yesterday before going to school at 10:30.

When you’re ready to cook, preheat your oven to 225. Line a large roasting pan or sheet tray with foil. Plop that beautiful piece of meat on there and throw it in the oven. Now, some recipes tell you to use a thermometer and let it come to a certain temp. I did not do this. Roast for 10-12 hours, or until the meat is super crusty on the outside and soft on the inside. I tested it by pushing on the top crust and my finger just kind of…sank in. Sorry, that sounds gross.

Remove the pork from the oven and immediately use two forks to shred it. Make sure you mix that lovely crusty outside in there too- that’s the best part. Allow to cool and then dress it with your favorite BBQ sauce and serve it on GF buns with homemade coleslaw, or just eat a pile of it straight up. Whatever sounds best to you- it’s incredible either way.

Hope you all had a wonderful day, lovelies!

2 thoughts on “All hail the mighty Pulled Pork

  1. I tried this and it was delicious – thank you so much! It was my first time making pulled pork (AND it’s my first time doing Whole 30, I’m on Day 2 today), so I really appreciate what a clear and simple recipe it is. I did leave out the chili powder, because we don’t like too much heat, and reduced the salt a bit, but it was perfect. Thanks again!

  2. Pingback: Just in case you didn’t believe me… | Kay's Whole 30 Diary

Leave a Reply

