Days 5, 6, 7

First off, I gotta say- camping this weekend was wonderful! My bestie and a bunch of her teaching colleagues did a half-marathon at Timothy Lake on Saturday, and I drove up to meet them after the race. They had packed a metric buttload of delicious, totally non-Whole 30-compliant foods that, I am proud to say, I was able to resist. I stayed within the technical guidelines for food while I was up there, although I probably “grazed” way more than I was supposed to. I’m going to count it as a win though. And, meeting all those fantastic women and seeing how much fun they were having inspired me to begin a walking program so I can do the half-marathon with them next year! I started yesterday and I feel great. I’ve tried to do a running program a few times but soon realized that my various and sundry joint issues did not make for a comfortable run. It seems that I’m better suited for walking, and I’m totally ok with that!

Sunday I got home, took a nap, went shopping with the husband for supplements and meat, and spent the rest of the evening lazing about the house. It was glorious. Mad Men was on, and then Game of Thrones which- holy moley!!! I could NOT believe that episode. It completely blew me away, and now I”m eagerly awaiting the finale- I can’t imagine how they’re going to top that episode in terms of sheer awesomeness. (Notice how I kept it spoiler-free? You’re welcome.)

Yesterday after classes I came home and cooked up some sausages and sweet potatoes, with a few pea pods from our “garden”. But! Breakfast was awesome- Turkey, Butternut Squash and Kale Patties with eggs and fresh pineapple. Recipe below (adapted from  Multiply Delicious).

I’m not going to do a breakdown of my food today; I’ve been eating really well, if not a little repetitively. I feel great though! I’m starting to get that energy rush; this morning not so much as I was up really late with sinus allergies. But I’ve had a little coffee so I’m ready to tackle the world! Have a wonderful day, lovelies! I’m going to Tryon Creek State Park for a 2.7 mile walk with the pup today, so hopefully I can post some pics of that later.

Turkey, Butternut Squash, and Kale Patties- makes 6-8 patties, depending on size *NOTE: You must refrigerate the mixture for at least 4 hours before you fry it up into patties!*

8 oz. peeled  butternut squash or sweet potato, cut into very small cubes

2 scallions, chopped finely

3 cups kale, chopped finely (I used my food processor and it worked out great)

1.5# ground turkey

1 egg

1/4 cup almond flour

1/4 tsp. ground rosemary

1/2 tsp. black pepper

1/4 tsp. garlic powder (NOT garlic salt) or 1 clove fresh garlic, minced

1 tsp. kosher salt

1 T. ghee, lard, coconut oil, etc. for sauteeing veggies

1. Heat fat in frying pan over medium-high heat until shimmering. Add squash/sweet potatoes and saute until slightly soft, about 3-5 minutes.

2. Add kale (and fresh garlic if you’re using it) and saute for 2-3 minutes. Set aside veggie mixture to cool.

3. Mix turkey, egg, almond flour and spices in large bowl. Add veggie mixture and mix until well combined. Refrigerate mixture for 4 hours minimum; overnight is better.

4. Heat fat in frying pan over medium-low heat. Form mixture into patties about 1/2″ thick and fry until both sides are browned. Eat immediately or allow to cool and then refrigerate for 3-4 days for later eating. Enjoy!

 

Leave a Reply

